List of AHSOW Educators and Certifiers


WHAT DOES THE AHSOW DISTRICT EDUCATOR & CERTIFIER (DEC) DO? He provides opportunities for men to come and enjoy proper woodshedding. He passes along the old songs and the art and skill of woodshedding. He arranges for an AHSOW presence at Spring and Fall conventions in his District, as possible, and at Divisional conventions, as is feasible. He holds one or more woodshed "Gatherings" in his District (a "Gathering" is a specially scheduled evening or weekend day where men can come together to learn and practice woodshedding). He arranges for an AHSOW presence at COTS and HEP schools, as possible. The DEC also determines whether aspirants for AHSOW membership possess adequate capabilities to join our elite ear-singing organization. Click here for a DEC presentation prepared by Vin Zito of NED.

The DEC is assisted by one or more Assistant DECs (ADECs). The ADEC acts in the DEC's absence or at his instruction. Each DEC is encouraged to identify new ADECs on his own and run the nominees by the Vice-President of AHSOW, Inc. for feedback. Largely for reasons of geography, some Districts may have two DECs (called Co-DECs). They communicate freely, share ideas, and may conduct activities in tandem or independently.

The DEC has one or more teams of competent helpers ("qualifying-team members") available to help conduct auditions for AHSOW membership. These teams should easily be able to woodshed several songs from AHSOW's suggested auditioning repertoire, with each man on the team able to proficiently woodshed one or more voice-parts to each song used for auditions. The DEC needs to accurately and promptly handle the minimal paperwork involved with inducting new members, and to stay in frequent touch with the Vice-President, President, and Manager/Treasurer of AHSOW, Inc. Click here for minutes of the most recent get-together.

MAJOR ASSETS AVAILABLE TO THE DEC:
  • A nicely refined program (flexibly suiting each case, yet precluding any need to "reinvent the wheel");
  • A continuous flow of novel ideas from DEC counterparts all over the Society;
  • A tested presentation for bringing AHSOW to local chapter meetings;
  • Complete accessibility to the President and Board of AHSOW, Inc.;
  • AHSOW, Inc.'s aggressive positive promotion (on every front) of authentic, properly undertaken woodshedding;
  • AHSOW, Inc.'s regular, uplifting communication with DECs, including copious ideas and success stories shared with all members of the program.


Active DEC personnel rapidly find themselves "addicted" to this appreciated, special service to their District and fellow Barbershoppers. The feelings of fulfillment are quite genuine, and absolutely unparalleled! For further information about the AHSOW DEC program, contact any of the AHSOW officers.


Following is the roster of AHSOW District personnel. Telephone numbers are home numbers; e-mail addresses are listed when known.

ABBREVIATIONS:
DEC = District Educator & Certifier (in charge of District AHSOW program)
ADEC = Assistant DEC (able to assist, answer questions, act semiautonomously)
Co-DEC = Shares DEC duties with another Co-DEC, usually geographically

CARDINAL DISTRICT (CAR)

DEC Opportunity Available

CAROLINAS DISTRICT (NSC)

Don Dobson, DEC
Rascaldon@earthlink.net
910 620-3916

John Fisher, CO-DEC
madisonbelle@msn.com
304 229-2372

CENTRAL STATES DISTRICT (CSD)

Gale Demaree, DEC
hgdem@cox.net
(479) 273-2827

Vince Yinger, ADEC
jurassic.larks@yahoo.com
(515)255-5668

DIXIE DISTRICT (DIX)

DEC Opportunity Available

R. Chuck Greene, ADEC
greenech@bellsouth.net
(828) 681-1617

Fred Hinesley, ADEC
hinesley@juno.com
(912) 598-2977

EVERGREEN DISTRICT (EVG)

DEC Opportunity Available

Don Craig, ADEC
doncraig@shaw.ca
(403) 242-9486

Terry Crowe, ADEC
crowetw@telus.net
(403) 249-6082

Doug Marwood, ADEC
doug.marwood@telus.net
(403) 278-6222

Chuck Olson, ADEC
udummyolson@verizon.net
(503) 357-3046

FAR WESTERN DISTRICT (FWD)

Casey Parker, DEC
caseypar@garlic.com
(408) 814-5247

Charley Bauder, ADEC
ArleneVI@cox.net
(520) 625-2757

Earle Holt, ADEC
earleholt@comcast.net
(925) 284-1381

A. Kent Shepherd, ADEC
shep44@myway.com
(559) 230-1895

Mark Torrance, ADEC
marktorrance@yahoo.com
408-265-9239

Mike Werner, ADEC
bass4pps@yahoo.com
714-547-4381

ILLINOIS DISTRICT (ILL)

Jim Fourmont, DEC
jimfourmont@sbcglobal.net
630 978-0553

Kenneth Krancher, ADEC
bbshp4all@yahoo.com
309 240-8089

Robin Meredith, ADEC
info@peoriamontessori.org
309 444-8163

Ski Sowinski, ADEC
no e-mail
847 426-5211

JOHNNY APPLESEED DISTRICT (JAD)

Ken Wheeler, DEC
jadec@globalco.net
(740) 588-0241

Bryan J. Noda, ADEC
nodab4@yahoo.com
(440) 946-9690

Mark Pascarella, ADEC
mark.pascarella@comcast.net
(412) 823-2733

Jon Stotzer, ADEC
jgs81857@woh.rr.com
(419) 448-9449

LAND O' LAKES DISTRICT (LOL)

Charlie Wilde, DEC
acwilde2@charter.net
715 675-1094

Paul H. Smith, ADEC
psmith1019@verizon.net
(715) 842-2997

MID-ATLANTIC DISTRICT (MAD)

John Schulkins, DEC
LJSchulkins@msn.com
(703) 966-5534

John Fisher, ADEC
madisonbelle@msn.com
(304) 229-2372

Phil Richards, ADEC
phil@ahsow.org
203-762-0033

Mike Stoll, ADEC
oh2sing@gmail.com
(703) 503-9438

NORTHEASTERN DISTRICT (NED)

DEC Opportunity Available

ONTARIO DISTRICT (ONT)

Jim McDougall, DEC
jamesmcdougall@rogers.com
(519) 245-0843

Mac Dallman, ADEC
macdall@telus.net
(905) 372-8230

Dave Forrester, ADEC
dforrest@sympatico.ca
(613) 226-3209

John Gough, ADEC
novastar@execulink.com
(519) 264-1031

Doug Petch, ADEC
doug.petch050@sympatico.ca
(519) 672-1088

PIONEER DISTRICT (PIO)

Aaron Wolf, DEC
wolftune@gmail.com
734 996-3934

ROCKY MOUNTAIN DISTRICT (RMD)

Oz Whelander, DEC
ozmar@q.com
505-298-5205

SENECA LAND DISTRICT (SLD)

Mike Ebbers, DEC
No email


John P. Wulf, ADEC
jwulf1959@yahoo.com
(716)636-4655

Bob Coant, ADEC
rcoant@twcny.rr.com
(315) 598-7697

Phil McCabe, ADEC
CPMcCabe@aol.com
(585) 334-7142

Ted R. Norton, ADEC
tednorton@roadrunner.com
(585) 372-4536

Andy Wolf, ADEC
AWolfCall@aol.com
(585) 494-2326

Jack Zonnevylle, ADEC
zonnevyllej@aol.com
(585) 889-3076

SOUTHWESTERN DISTRICT (SWD)

Bryan Black, DEC

bblack@quixnet.net
903-834-7299

Dr. Hank Hammer, ADEC
HHammer315@aol.com
(210) 256-0818

Jevon Wright, ADEC
jwright00@gmail.com
405 314-1401

SUNSHINE DISTRICT (SUN)

Lance Lubin, DEC
lance.lubin@gmail.com
727 410-5696

Jerry Noda, ADEC
nodaja@comcast.net
(941) 475-6553

BRITISH ASSOCIATION OF BARBERSHOP SINGERS (BABS)

Bob Walker, AHSOW Coordinator
Bob@taghound.co.uk
011-44-140-325-5300


Return to AHSOW home page